The Dominion Hotel was built in 1903 by Robert McKernan, whose son, John W. McKernan, built the architecturally unique Princess Theatre across the street in 1914.
At the time of the Hotel's construction, it was the most ornate of the buildings on Whyte Avenue. The architecture consisted of a relatively simple rectangular three-storey brick structure. The façade, however, consisted of elaborately decorated wooden balconies topped by an ornate central cupola giving the structure a distinctive Victorian Appearance.
The building originally functioned as a hotel with the ground floor containing the lobby, dining facilities and a beer parlour. The hotel function ended with prohibition, when the upper floors were converted to apartments and sleeping rooms. The ground floor has been occupied by a variety of retail outlets. The original building was demolished reconstructed in the early 1980s.